Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jsblock11

Skates felt great at store, now too tight at home?

I know many have posted topics about skates being too tight, but I wanted to post my detailed symptoms and hopefully get some advice on how to proceed. I bought a pair of Graf Supra 703's at Hockey Monkey Irvine (I live in San Diego) yesterday morning after trying on about every skate they had. I'm a beginner and this is my first pair of skates. The 703 Narrow size 9 were the only ones I could get a firm heel lock with, and they baked them and they felt snug, but not painful after I had them on for about ~15 minutes. It felt like the right size based on the salesman's questions and feedback.

Fast forward to the late afternoon and I put them on at home and they felt great in the heels but now painfully tight in the toe box area, squeezing the sides of my forefoot together quite painfully, feeling a bit too short (toes still touching end when knees are flexed), and the top of the toe box a pressure point on the top of my middle toe. After wearing them sitting on my couch for 10 minutes there was a reasonable amount of pain from the pressure and deep red marks on the side of my forefoot on either side - the bone at the base of my big toe as well as the bone and pinky toe both were the same deep red from the pressure. The squeezing and bunching in the forefoot area and toebox made it painful to just stand or walk around with the skates on.

I just can't believe my feet would've expanded so much from morning to afternoon, but the difference was signifcant.