Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

huntajav

Help Replacing CCM Super Tacks 992 Skates

Hey Guys,

So I am a college student in Minnesota and I play on the club team. I have been using the CCM Super Tacks 992 Size 7D skates for about a few months now and so far its been okay.

This winter break I played pond hockey with friends for about 5 hours a day and after yesterdays skate the bony bump (lateral malleolus) on the lateral side of my ankle is in pain. The pain comes from pressure for sure.

Now I realize that my skates are pretty old but I bough them new from Play it again sports. Do you guys think that I should invest to buy a new pair of skates in the level I am playing at? I skate probably everyday and would be appreciative of any advice. Also I think the guy from PIAS sized me wrong since I know that I have really wide feet and he gave me the 7D which is narrow.

-Hunter

You are playing 5 hrs a day, that i think is the issue. Did you have any problems before? That much skating in one day is to much, I don't think it's the skate. For the last 6 yrs I skate in a 24hr charity event. After a few hours most of the guys start getting blisters and pain, regardless of brand skate. True you skate may be too narrow, that's a different issue. Oh, BTW, you lucky bastard to be playing 5 hrs a day!

Several things you can do, starting from least expensive to most expensive (as noted above, 5 hours is excessive, so you're going to feel pain either way-- hell even in my custom VH skates, I can barely last 3-4 hours):

1. Don't tie the top two eyelets as tight
  2. Skip the top eyelet
  3. Punch out the ankle area