Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Campoli

Matching Gear - Colours/Colors and Brands

Hey guys, I am just getting into the game and in the process of picking up pieces of gear as I come across good deals. I found a sweet deal on some Easton Stealth 75s ii gloves in Navy. Does this at all mean I should be purchasing a Navy helmet or will I look like a noob (which I am) grabbing a black helmet? Black Eastons were available but not the right size.

Also, when it comes to gear, does one normally grab just what is comfortable, regardless of the colour as most of it will be hidden anyway?

Just curious what the consensus recreational / adult league player does.

Thanks all.

I used to go out of my way to match gear to team colors. It got expensive. Now I just buy black everything because that seems to be what everyone else does for the most part anyway.

For example, last year I played on a team that wore the old powder blue Penguins 3rd uniforms. I had blue pants, gloves and helmet (which is the correct color for those uniforms) but ended up wearing all black with them anyway because that's what most of the rest of the team had. I figure its better to match the team than be "correct".

But in reality for a beer league its really whatever you've got. I see guys out there with black pants, white helmet, and red mitts wearing orange socks. It really doesn't matter.

EDIT: As far as your pads go, whatever is comfortable and as protective as you want/need. Color is irrelevant.

TL;DR just get everything in black, it's the easiest way to go