Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

JimmyTheDriver

Waxed laces causing foot pain?

Let me start by saying - I don't know what is causing my feet to hurt. I am just feeling the water here.

I have been on Bauer Vapor X7.0 skates for almost 2 years now. They have always been great skates performance wise. Probably not the best fit for my foot, but I make due. One thing about these, and my old roller X60s, I was never able to really crank them down across the arch or it hurt so I always left it pretty lose in there.

Anyway, a few weeks back, both my feet started to cramp bad, so I started playing with the laces mid game. Since then - every time I skate, my feet burn like hell! All across the arch area. Likely that first time, I tied them too tight, but now I'm a headcase about it. I've been trying to run them looser in different places, but after so many years of the same thing... Its hard to get used to anything else and not really providing much relief.

I bought Superfeet Yellows a week back to try and help. Not sure if i love them or not since it almost feels like the slight rise in my heel has pushed my ankles out of the baked/molded indents.

So - I am left with my waxed laces... I have used them for years. Has anyone else experienced foot pain from them, due to the stiffness, and moved back to regular? Much like grip sticks... I feel like waxed laces are just the standard now. I'm not even sure why I use them other than I probably saw Ovi with yellow waxed laces and decided... well the pros do it, so should I.

Thoughts?

-Jim

what brand of wax laces are you using? I know elite are crazy waxed compared to other brands. I used to use regular cloth then tried wax and now using howies non wax laces.