Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Davetronz

Bauer NME8 Mask

Reviewer Details:
32 years old / 5’11 / 220lbs
Playing Level: Upper div men's rec league hockey (former minor league rep team player)

I had to replace my old, heavy Vaughn mask as I progressed into higher levels of playing goal. I picked up a Bauer NME8 with CSA mask in Fit3 and I've been using it exclusively for approximately 6 months now.

Fit

I went with Fit3, because Fit2 was showing a bit too much of the back of my head. Maybe I have a weird shaped head, but I have a bit of vertical space in the Fit3. It's definitely within spec, but I'd like it to be a tad bit tighter. I've thought about wearing a skull-cap but it hasn't bothered me that much. The padding in the NME8 feels really nice. Coming from the Vaughn mask, which felt like wearing a bucket on my head, this feels like a light-weight velvet pillow. The sweat band also feels nice against my forehead and errant Velcro isn't irritating my skin like the Vaughn was at the end of it's life. The only thing I'm not a huge fan of is the chin cup within the helmet. Its odd. It feels like it has too much travel and it often ends up wherever I don't want it. I've tried adjusting it, but I'm just not a fan of it's design and positioning.

8/10

Protection

Protection feels good. You still feel the shots off the mask, but it definitely feels way better than I had become used to. A shot off the Vaughn rang in my ears for at least 15 minutes after being hit - not good. Imagine hitting a metal dumpster with a pole. With the Bauer, I still feel the shot impact, but its deadened. My head doesn't rattle or ring. I'm not nearly as worried about being hit in the mask.

9/10

Weight