Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

LunchBox0311

Advice on skates

Great forum guys, I've learned a lot in the past couple weeks reading stuff on here. Anyways, after taking my kids skating a few times over the past few months, I realized, or rediscovered, that I really like skating, and I like hockey, and I want to get back into it at the old and out of shape age of 35. I used to play inline hockey constantly growing up and played ice hockey a bit as well, 20 years ago. So I'm not a total newb to everything, but I'm pretty much a total newb, lol.

So, I decided that since I really enjoy it, Its a great way to get into better shape (I think), and I want to get a decent pair of skates and do more, maybe take an adult skills class or something, and eventually get into a beginner league next season. The issue, is that I live in Wichita Kansas, which is not exactly a hockey hotbed. There is a local rink with a pro shop, and I went there to get fitted for skates, and listen to the sage advice of the professionals there. Unfortunately, what actually happened is I found out that a 7.5 Bauer Supreme fits my foot lengthwise, but was way too narrow. Apparently I have fat stumpy feet. There weren't any other skates for me to try on there, and that's the only game in town. The guy who worked there actually told me to order online, because he didn't have anything.