Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Yotes19

Transitioning from soccer to hockey

Hey all, so I've got a bit of an odd question. Does anyone have any general tips for someone transitioning from playing soccer to inline hockey? I'm 26 and have played soccer my whole life, and I just started playing inline hockey in a league a couple weeks ago. I used to play street hockey with my friends a bit as a kid, but this is my first time doing anything remotely organized or competitive.

2 games into the season and I'm definitely struggling. Aside from not being the best skater or puck handler, I've noticed I don't really have any hockey instincts on the rink yet. In soccer it all comes natural to me, but in hockey I find I'm never quite sure where I should be positioned (whether attacking or defending) or where to play the puck when I get it in various situations. I've noticed I tend to try the general things I would do in a soccer situation and it often ends up with me getting burned.

Has anyone else here made the transition from soccer to hockey?

And even if not, can anyone help cue me in to some of the fundamental do's and don'ts in your typical in-game situations?

Any help or advice is appreciated.

Thanks!