Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SoftwareDev

Blades on Evaluation Night

Hello all! 

I am a newb in hockey; this will be my first league (E) that I will be participating in. Tonight is the evaluation skate to determine skater ratings for the upcoming draft. The local ice rink has changed their hours the last two weeks and the chances for me to practice were terrible. I only got the chance to practice last on 9/8, and I was very confident then. My question to you is, I have about 3.5-4 hours on my current sharpening and I was thinking about going to practice skating here in about 3 hours, but worry I may dull my blades just enough to not have enough edge for stopping tonight... would you get a quick practice in and dull your blades further and eval skate with them tonight? or would you go dull them out, then go get them sharpened after work? OR would you just forgo the mini practice session this morning and just go to the eval skate? The eval skate is a scrimmage, mix of E/D players.

I wouldn't let blade sharp-ness trump getting ice time. Maybe I'm a bit of a plug for this, but truthfully - I pretty much never notice if my skates are sharp or not.