Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

hockeydots

Hand Skin Problems

I have two sons playing youth hockey (squirt and mite). My squirt has developed what seem to be eczema on his hands, wrists and shins. His hands peel and crack until they bleed and hurt him very much. Our doctor has given him ointments which seem to keep it in check, but does not cure it. I think it is due to his sweat. Is this common? I'm new to youth hockey (3 years, never played as a kid) and have never seen this. Will the newer moisture-wicking equipment (gloves and pads) help this problem? Any feedback would be appreciated.

Could this be a bacterial infection from the bacteria living in your kids' sweaty gloves? It's not uncommon for people to get staph infections from their equipment. Lots of kids never air out their gear, so they become host to colonies of bacteria. This sort of infection put one of my assistant coaches in the hospital.

It could be a fungus. Throw away the gloves and get new ones and see if it helps.

You can get them santized at Esporta or Sports wash places.

We dry them on a rack after each practice and game. They were new gloves this season, just cheap ones. During the Christmas tourny (6 games in 3 days) they looked really bad. I didn't know how common this was.