Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mickz

Thinking about playing goal

Hey guys, first off I'm new to this part of the forum. I've been playing hockey for many years but I've only strapped on the pads once when I switched gear with my goalie for one ice time.

Anyways, I know as a player starting out I would spend the most on skates, gloves, and helmet, cheap out a bit on everything else and gradually upgrade as I got better.

I understand I'll need a Mask, Chest Protector, Blocker, Catcher, Jock, Pants, Pads, skates and a stick (I don't think I left anything out?) How would you prioritize your gear starting from the more important things (gear I should spend a little bit more on) to ones I can get away with buying cheaper at first (not as important gear like the stick?)

TIA.

Invest in a good mask that is properly fitted. You can skimp on the other stuff without sacrificing protection, but don't go cheap on your head.

If you look back a little, there have been a couple other threads dealing with this that contained some good info. The most recent one was by srv2miker.

There are a few other minor incidentals you'll need to add to that list of yours:

If your C/A (chest/arm protector) has a low or wide-spread collar, you may need to buy a neck/clavicle guard to wear underneath. I'd go with a Maltese Combo.

You'll need some kind of long underwear, compression pants or sweatpants to wear as a base-layer. Hockey socks are OK, but they tend to be annoying as a goalie. Definitely wear a long-sleeved shirt as well.