Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

planegoalie

Bauer Supreme One80 TGC Spec Pads

Hi all,

This is my first time doing a review. I was only able to find one other review on here so I figure that I will though my 2cents out here. I will keep adding posts as I use them and report the status.

Product: Bauer One80 TCG (The Goalie Crease) Spec. 36'+1 $699 CDN

1045699040_pgELV-M.jpg

A little Background :

I got back into playing after 8 years hockey free. Having only a pair of old standup DR pads I needed new pads to get in the game. Thanks to the guys at TGC I got an awesome deal on a pair of RBK Xpulse Pro Specs 35+1. At this piont i just wanted back on the ice, and had not played a butterfly style at all.

Fast Fwd 7 months and I am playing hockey like i never thought I would. Call me a junkie or what you may, I am just loving every minute of being back in the net. The more and more I play, the more "butterfly style" I would get. I now consider me a butterfly goalie. Learning slides, pushes, and the butterfly itself has been a hoot. With all this butterfly talk I started to realize that my pads might be hindering me a little. What got me back in the game was fine then, but... I was noticing some issues.

1. My pads were a little small on me and i could never seal up the Five hole. Even when my knees were squezzed together there was simply not enough pad at the thigh rise. I needed at least 2 more inches on these pads.

2. Sliding was pretty hard. I can Slide in them, but the pad (due to its design) always wants to crumple fwd as its soft, transfering the engery downward, instead of being stiff and rigid.

3. They are SOFT. I want a harder pad and these are the totaly opposite. If you like a true Hybrid pad thats soft buy these off me. Also they shrunk a bit.