Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mickz

Knee/Thigh Guards

Just curious, how many of you guys are wearing knee pads opposed to the stock thigh wraps that come with most pads?

I'm still pretty new to playing goal but I am interested in picking up a pair. I am debating between the Vaughn V3 7700 and the ones from Don Simmons.

For those of you wearing knee pads, what model(s) have you tried and what did you like/not like about them?

I'm in the process of improving my knee-protection, which has been a little off ever since I moved to CCM 620 pants, so this is very much on my mind at the moment.

Knee-pads are an across-the-board improvement on anything that laces into the back of the pad. The reason is pretty simple: anything that is laced into the back of the pad and strapped to your leg is going to resist the rotation of the pad, unless you wear it so loosely that it could flap in the breeze -- and that's leaving aside the possibility of it getting caught in your pants.

There are four basic things you want a knee-pad to do:

1) adequately protect your knee and lower thigh from puck impacts, 'underlapping' the thigh of your pants;

2) integrate seamlessly with your pants and pads, neither catching on the pants nor jamming in the knee of the pads (which can often can rotation issues);

3) stay in place on your leg, especially with respect to the patella;

4) provide a little extra cushion in butterflying, and a little extra height off the knee-block/stack.