Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
proth0303

CCM QLT 270 Pants

Height - 6'0"

Weight - 185 lbs

Pant size - Large

Level/Frequency of play: Novice/D League/Drop-Ins (3-4 times per week)

Fit:  I've been using these pants for approximately 4 months and in the LHS and before a skate they fit just fine.  I had tried on a comparable Bauer Vapor pant but felt the CCM offered a little more protection.  The issue I ran into was about 20-30 minutes into a skate I found myself having to cinch the belt down tighter to keep them up.  I don't know if it is the weight once they get drenched in sweat/water or that the pad behind the belt slides a little or if the belt is actually loosening up?  In the end I found that I prefer to use suspenders with these pants as the belt wasn't enough to hold them in place.  Even though I'm not overly tall, I do use the 1" extension to get the pants to sit at the top of my shin guards. 7/10

Protection:  Overall protection from the pants is quite good.  I've taken puck shots, hips to the boards, kicks from children, etc, and barely notice a thing; however, it only took one fall on my tailbone to bring me to tears.  Upon closer inspection the tailbone protection seems a bit light.  I've since had to resort to external measures to add more tailbone protection (insert a figure skating pad in my compression shorts). 7/10

Weight:  The best part of these pants is they are light and once I started using suspenders I barely notice them.  It's impressive just how light they are but offer great protection (less the tailbone area). 10/10