Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
hockeydad3

Wheels too soft?

This is my first season on inlineskates. After the end of the ouside-ice-season i was skating during the last weeks with my rollerblade fusion on 84mm 86A F1 Matter wheels on streets and public places.Today i was skating the first time with my new Graf Max 10 hockeyinlineskates on the outside ice-rink. The surface is a semi rough concrete( like sand-paper). The 80mm/78A stock wheels are feeling like they are too soft. I´m 93kg 170cm. Skill level absolute beginner. With the rollerblades i could do turns much easyer on the hockey rink and they are faster. The grafs need mor force to turn though they are more agile. On my hockeyskates i´m using a 3/4" hollow. Should I try harder wheels or do i simply have to adapt to the Graf wheels?

How does it feel like when wheels are too soft?

Thanks for your answers.

Those are pretty hard wheels, I would think they would be ok. I'm a little bigger than you and that's what I used to use outside. I think its just going to be a big transition from Rollerblade type skates to any sort of hockey style skates. They're build very differently.

That being said I've never used Graf skates or Graf wheels before. I predominately used Mission skates and some aftermarket style wheel. Another thing to consider, is the chassis on the new graf skates rockered or is it flat? I assume since you strictly said 84mm wheels that its a flat style chassis. That could be different and make it feel different for you as well.

-Chris 

49 minutes ago, CRupp13 said:

Those are pretty hard wheels, I would think they would be ok. I'm a little bigger than you and that's what I used to use outside. I think its just going to be a big transition from Rollerblade type skates to any sort of hockey style skates. They're build very differently.