Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Sign in to follow this  
vectoranalysisgo

Any tips for watery eyes?

So here’s a thing that has become more noticeably annoying for me, to the extent that I’m now seeking the wisdom of anyone else who’s experienced it and figured out a solution... eyes watering in the cold air. Blurs my vision, doesn’t seem to stop until half way into a skate once I’m warm or they adjust... even if I wipe them, blow my nose, whatever... the tears just keep coming. I’ve taken to just trying to blink at opportune times, and basically skate around with tears streaming down my face, but it’s inevitable that I have multiple moments in a game where I have trouble seeing - blurry tear filled vision. I mishandle a pass or misjudge a puck’s movement. 

I’ve been playing for about ten years and have always been a person whose eyes water immediately in the cold, but it might be getting worse as I get older, or it might be that I’m getting better and therefore it’s affecting my play more? Who knows. It drives me nuts. It’s not too bad in the summer when rinks are warm enough but every year when it gets cold, I find myself wishing I had a solution.  

They don’t feel dry, so I don’t think eye drops would help - it seems like the opposite problem. It’s worst in the coldest rinks and games where I’m skating more vs. less, so I assume it’s just my body’s reaction to the cold air. I get the same reaction any time I walk the dog outside in the cold. I’ve tried wearing a neck warmer/gaiter over my nose and mouth, which sometimes helps when I’m outdoors, but it didn’t seem to help with the blurry watery eyes and I couldn’t stand it. 

I wear a full cage. I assume if I switched to plastic the shield would help but I don’t really love that idea. But if nothing else works I may have to break down and give it a try.