Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
BenBreeg

Pronating and No Lace Skating

I thought I might start a little journal thing to document trying to figure out my pronation issues.

Background

I have been skating since I was about 10 or so and am 45.  I played through high school and then men's league with a pretty good chunk of time spent not playing and just coaching.  I started playing again about 9 months ago.  I know that I tend to favor my left side.  When I am just standing around, that is the default foot I will put my weight on.  My right ankle always used to get issues with posterior tibialus when I would run.  My right knee tracks inward (the left doesn't) when I do something like a one-legged squat.  So for the running injuries I would try to strengthen the interior calf, do lateral band walks, lying lateral leg raises with weights, etc.  That never really solved it.

So that carries over to skating where it is harder to get on my right outside edge than any of the others and just casually standing I tend to default to my right inside edge and am pretty square on my left skate.  I have read most of the articles on the internet about pronation in skating.  I contacted a figure skating skate guy and he mentioned the MLX but said most skates now have little room for moving the holder.

So I decided to try the unlaced skating approach and see what happens.  I had been down two eyelets except when playing, then just down one.  I am on old Bauer Supreme 7000s (yeah, I need new skates badly...).

So we went skating yesterday and while I didn't take the laces out this time, the tongue was flopped pretty far out and barely touching where it wasn't out of the boot.

Observations: