Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Sign in to follow this  
marka

Tendinitis help?

Howdy,

So after playing hockey basically 4 or 5 times a week for 3 years starting at age 46, about 2 or 3 months ago I tweaked my right (top hand) wrist.  I noticed it when I was reaching out to put a stick on a puck to deflect a shot, but I'm not convinced that it wasn't building before that, that just hurt enough for me to pay attention to it.

I tried playing through it, but after a couple games I gave up on that, and took a week off.  That helped a little, but the same pain was right back when I started playing again.  Took a little longer break, maybe 2 weeks, then tried again, this time in playoffs.  By the end of the 4 games of playoffs, the pain was back full strength.  Its enough that I think about the pain, vs. playing and am somewhat wincing as I'm reaching out to do anything with my stick on a puck.

Had an xray done during the 2nd break btw.  No fracture, diagnosis of tendinitis.  Dr. Lady says that I need to not play, could be a month or 6 months.  Obviously that's not really ok, but after the 2nd attempt I give that a go, plus see a hockey buddy who's a physical therapist.

Did the PT thing for about 4 weeks.  Pain gone, able to do exercises, etc.  Started shooting pucks in the garage last week and that went ok.  Able to take 50 or so wrist shots without any serious pain, but could certainly feel the wrist working.

Tonight, played a laid back game on a team my wife and I are on.  The pain is back by the 3rd period, similar to the same way it was after the 2nd break.  Not "this is clearly broken" or like a 10 level or anything, but certainly at the "that hurts a bit now, is getting worse, and if I keep going its going to be back to as bad as it was".