Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
KosstleHockey

New Kids Skates: Buying for performance over model/name (Bauer s25 jr.)

Long time reader first time poster. I am a researcher/analysis kinda guy --- I am a systems thinker... so sometimes I OVER THINK, but in reality I enjoy the cerebral exercise of decision making and trying to make a good decision when purchasing things ... sooooo ....

Did I make the right a good and well reasoned/researched decision on the skate I purchased for my 8u Mite --- (it's easy to sit and dispense advice to parents on the team and to folks on the internet but when it's your kid, how the doubt and over-thinking flood in!)

New Skate: Bauer Supreme s25 Junior (sz 1)

• -- [**Would you make any modifications? (New tongue? Replace cheap etc...)]
  • My planned upgrades:
    • Superfeet Insert (the stock Bauer one is ... a piece of cloth?)
    • Profile the blades ... not a direct mod per se, but when compared to a 2S with some yahoo on the grind wheel... 🙂
    • Might throw them in an old skate convection oven after the first couple of skates just after a skate to keep them breaking in quickly.
  • Could be convinced:
    • New Tongue --- honestly I dont think this adds to the performance much ... so probably not since this one isnt HORRIBLE unless lace bite pops up.
    • New Runners --- This is addressed in my concern. Since the holder is not an edge, doing this would be ... EXPENSIVE, and might blow the S25 experiment out of the water. 

Skater profile: 7yo, 45lbs, above average skater, has most of his edges, constantly moving -- lots of starts and stops. Previous skate: Bauer Supreme 140

Why the s25: