Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Sign in to follow this  
Leo fifty five

Too HEAVY for Skates??

Sup everyone!

New guy here, i recently started playing again as a winger at a beer league level. I used to play "semi" pro as a goalie, (the league was pro but i was not lol)

So I'm not the best skater as a winger, i have a skillset, its just quite different

I mention this because i recently ordered bauer s29, an old sponsor hooked me up for 225 euro. but  I recently learned that they are soft to help out beginners. Now im no beginner but im certainly not a master of skating out as a forward and im quite heavy too: 1m86/6ft1 and lets just say im definitely a heavyweight at over 250 lbs (part of the reason i started playing this year)

Then yesterday an old teammate said he could sell me his used bauer 1s skates used a pro season but half a size bigger for 160 euros (size nine instead of 8.5)

Now when my last season i was in vapor 1x pro goalie skates in a 9 but i heard skates too big could really hurt skating technique.

So my question is would S 29s be to soft?

Keep the s29s or send em back and get the 1s?

Any advice would be much appreciated, i don t know much about player gear

Best

Edited by Leo fifty five
Wrong title

It's all player preference. My FT2 were as stiff as I thought I'd possibly be able to use and when I switched to True's it felt like I Was skating with concrete hiking books on (the stiffness of boot, not the weight). However, I got used to it and I actually like how stiff it is now. I don't think something ultra stiff suits most people but for somebody that weighs 250, I could maybe see stiffness helping to extend life of boot.