Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

TheWay

Just for fun

Hello again,

I just got started on this board and I've been floored by the speed and detail of responses.

Hopefully this one will make you think a bit.

For some background, I am a teacher. Specifically, I'm a high school phys ed teacher (who's contract ended and is looking for work now).

Everyone probably remembers the good old game of floor hockey from those times and the pathetic things that Canadian High Schools call "pads".

When I left my most recent job I restitched a half dozen of those pads back together to save the school buying new pairs because of a piece of nylon fabric that couldn't handle it's stitching.

While repairing those I came across a pair that were beyond basic repairs, so I claimed them from their demise and decided to make them a summer project.

Those of you who've read my other post know that I work my summers in industrial fabrics, so I have access to sewing machines (though not an open armed rig) and scrap fabric (lots of it) so I decided that before doing anything to my Koho's I was going to practice on these because my sewing ability is less than polished.

Calgary-20110617-00018.jpg

Calgary-20110617-00019.jpg

They are made of a medium grade Cordura and low grade synthetic leather feeling front-panel with a 1/8" medium density foam backing and a massive piece of low density foam behind that. The rest of the fabric is made in China nylon that couldn't survive a toddler using these things.

From a design perspective what would you add to these?