Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

raygunpk

Skate stiffness?

I'm 5'11, 160lbs, I've been playing roller hockey competitively for about 2 years and ice for 1. I'm in the market for new blades but I'm just wondering about the stiffness step up from the $150~ blades to the $250~ ones.

From what I gather, the things that more expensive skates have is better bearings, indoor wheels, and more stiffness.

I can understand the first two, but is stiffness directly related to performance somehow? I guess the more stiff it is the less it would hurt to block a shot, but that's all I can think of..

Also, what brand makes the widest blades?

I'm currently in CCM Vector 6.0 for ice, the thing that turns me off about their blades is the wheel setup and how hard it would be to get new wheels. Although this is something I can overlook if they fit the best.

Thanks guys

Stiffness is a pretty big deal, the stiffer the boot the longer it will take to break in and they may hinder your speed/skating ability if you aren't a strong enough skater for them.

Unless I'm mistaken, stiffness primarily has to do with the lifespan of the boot. Obviously, a stiffer boot generally indicates it will last longer. I think making a stiffer boot without adding weight also means they have to use more expensive materials, not entirely sure on that though. I tend to doubt you'll see a huge difference in $100. $200? Probably so :D