Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

powerplay2k1

Goalie skates

Heres a weird question, situation for everyone. I recently started playing goalie again and have been using my CCM U+ skates. Changed the wheels to the 47mm size and love the lightness of the skates. My feet movement is quick. However, I recently bought a pair of XG Lite goalie skates...and they feel weird. They feel really heavy compared to my U+ skates...to the point that I dont want to wear them.

Is there any other goalies out there that dont play in goalie specific skates? I play beer league, A league and alot of pickups...just dont know if this is common thought amoung us goalies. Lol

Thanks!

I've seen goalies who went for the Mako as a goalie skate, due to them being so comfortable and low-cut. You might be able to get away on some Graf models as-well, but I'm afraid the higher cut from most modern boots is going to be a problem with the butterfly/hybrid style.

I play using my first ever player skates, some old Missions. They have the straight chassis as Hi-los weren't invented yet and I put 59mm "Patriot" wheels on them.There have been times where I've been tempted to cut the tendon guards off, but they haven't bugged me that much lately. I also bought some Bauer goal skates but they are heavy and not nearly as comfortable, so I stuck with the Missions while the Bauers collect dust...