Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Sign in to follow this  
grepnick

Bauer Nexus N8000 (2016)

About the Reviewer

Height Weight: 5'10" 214lbs with extremely wide feet

Skate Size: 8.5 EE

Background & Experience

I picked up hockey as an adult in my late twenties. Through many clinics and adult development classes, I was able to get good enough to play beer league and now play on two teams. I'm by no means an expert, but my many years of rollerblading in the 90's served me well when I decided to pick up hockey. I’ve spent a fortune on gear over the years and I like to write reviews.

Fit

I have an extremely wide forefoot -- I should have been a swimmer because I probably would do great with my duck feet, but I like my ponds frozen. The Nexus is the highest volume skate that I have ever used. It’s shocking how much volume there is. For comparison, my first pair of skates were CCM Vector v4.0 EE and they were not wide enough, so I was forced to upgrade to Vector v10.0 EEE skates. The Nexus N8000 (available off the shelf in EE) are wider than those custom ordered EEE skates. These are without question, the skates for people with wide feet.

The Nexus N8000 fits like a hiking boot. That might sound like a bad thing, but as someone who has suffered with foot pain due to poorly fitting skates for years, the Nexus N8000 is the first skate that I have ever tried off the shelf and did not have immediate issues with pain.