Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

hockeyshmockey10

New Skates...newbie...kinda

i have been playing ice hockey for the last 15 years. im 19 now and have played AAA travel, AA house and highschool. im from wisconsin and consider myself a very good skater. im making the move to florida for college and wanted to get some roller hockey started at my school...to my knowledge there is nothing going on, but i wanted to join in on some leagues around there. first off, i would need some skates... currently i have some really old missions proto vi or something 5-3 stiffness rating. im not sure what it means but anywho i tied them up and they just felt horrible on my feet. way too narrow and just way too flexible.

i have a wider foot, very small-flat arch. what skate would best suit me? i was kinda interested into getting a ice hockey skate, putting some chassis (ebay) on them and then transfering the ice holder when i move back home for the summer. i have the guy in a shop putting skates together for free for me...so really its up to your opinions...

what skate would be better for my foot type, as well as...is it a bad idea to go from ice skates and converting them?

Im not very knowledgeable about Roller Hockey, but you can take ice skates and convert them.

As for startinga RH program at your school I think it's very possible.

I don't know if you've researched it but all you have to do is create some interest. Find enough people that would want to play or be part of the club as a "coach, asst. coach" etc.

Make sure they're students and get your student council or budgeting commitee (via petition/or whatever the recognition procedure is for your school) to recognize you as a student organization. My school has crap like ball room dancing club so you can do it.