Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Jackymc

Bruised Ankle

So I've been skating on in my skates for about 4 months now around twice a week and I never had a problem until the last few months. A spot on my left ankle hurts when I touch it but doesn't bother me normally when I walk about. However, when I lace up my skates, the skates seem to agravate it and it hurts cause the side of the boot touch that spot every time I take a stride. It feels tender like its bruised but I don't really see any swelling or any marks. I'm basically limping these days on the ice and its getting worse every time I go on the ice.

Could there be something wrong with my skates that is causing this? I don't remember taking a puck in the ankle or anything and this has never happened to me with other skates I've worn. :(

I have the same problem. I have found that it happens to me if I don't tighten my skates enough. My ankle seems to be to high up and bruises. It takes about a week to heal and if I do it again the next time I skate, I start the cycle all over again <_<

The doc in my case says that my skate has irritated an old ankle injury and a calcium deposit has started to form. He's sending me for x-rays. Not sure what the treatment is once the diagnosis is confirmed.

Having my boot punched near the injury has helped with comfort a lot.

The doc in my case says that my skate has irritated an old ankle injury and a calcium deposit has started to form. He's sending me for x-rays. Not sure what the treatment is once the diagnosis is confirmed.

Having my boot punched near the injury has helped with comfort a lot.

Calcium deposits are basically just bone spurs. I think i've got one on each ankle on the outside, right above the acutal ankle joint.