Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Sign in to follow this  
JR Boucicaut

Nike/Bauer Supreme 30

NikeBauer Supreme 30

10 D

Reviewer's Stats

6’3’’ 240 lbs

Normal footshape, I think.

Beginner Adult level player

Introduction – When I decided I would try to learn hockey, I signed up for lessons, and used rental skates for my first lesson. After that, I went straight to the pro-shop, asked for a pair of skates suitable for a beginner. I was put in CCM Tacks, 252, because I told the guy I had a wide foot. I then upgraded to 852’s, thinking the pain was just skate pain. After constant pain, I went to another shop near me in Laurel, and was fitted in a pair of Bauer Supreme 30’s, regular width.

Fit - As I mentioned, I had thought I had wide feet, but the regular width fitted me fine. I have been skating on them now for a few months. One thing I noticed was my left foot which was initially fine, began hurting as the skate broke in for me. As I couldn’t get gray superfeet locally, I put in a pair of Shock Doctor hockey insoles to replace the flimsy standard NBH ones. Immediate difference, and while I have ordered some superfeet online, I am not going to change the shock doctor footbed as the skate now fits me perfectly.

9/10 fit

Blade/Holder – Tuuk custom +.

I don’t know how to evaluate this part of the skate properly, so here is my general feelings on it.

I feel like I am a little further back in my stance on the skates, and for me, that’s great, I find it helps my stability on the ice. This may be a product of my own improvement as a skater, but I felt like I was a little more forward on the balls of my feet in Tacks.

I usually go about 10-12 ice hours between sharpenings, and that works out well for me. In my opinion for the edge to hold up for that long, with my weight, it can only be a good thing for the blade.