Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

TheBeatGoesOn

the "hockey stop"

Is this just something that clicks at some point and then it's no problem or is it something you have to work at and get better at? Seems like it's one of those things that once you hit it right once, you can basically do it but I don't know. I'm new to ice skating and feel I'm picking it up well, just have yet to be able to figure out how to stop. I can turn doing the leg cross over thing and I can skate backwards and all that jazz (thanks to long roller blading sessions when I was younger), JUST CAN'T STOP and it's pissing me off.

just do it, thats the only way you will get it to "click". keep your knees bent.

just dont pactice by the boards. going head first into them is not fun

If you don't know how to stop at all, you should probably try to do a snow-plow stop first. It seems you know how to use your edges. A snowplow stop is one where your blades are totally flat and not using any edges. Try this using both feet and one leg at a time. After you do this for a while, you can think about trying the hockey stop.

Make sure your skates are laced tight enough at the top so that you aren't rolling too far onto the inside edge when you try to stop. You can also try stuffing a sock or some foam into the outside part of the boot between your leg/ankle and the boot so you can't roll onto the inside edge as much. This is what I did to help while I was learning how to stop and it worked like a charm.