Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Sign in to follow this  
Chadd

Oggie Sticky Grip Foam

http://www.oggiegrip.com/sticky-grip-foam.php

Intro: I've been using this stuff for a couple years now and I love it. Joe is also releasing a roll of the foam so you can get the straight stuff without all the shapes. That's a nice option if you're older or are a little more traditional.

Weight: I just use the straight line pieces off of the sheet. I wrap two lines around the top of the shaft and tape over that. Adding as little as I do there is no more weight than if the stick was taped. In fact, I would bet that my tape jobs with the foam weigh less than my old ones that are simply knobs of tape.

Performance: More than anything, it saves the palms of your gloves.If you tend to hold the top of the shaft in the palm of your hand, you tend to wear a hole in the palm where the butt end sits. I used to go through gloves every few months because of this. With the Oggie foam, I end up replacing my gloves less often. The spongy grip is also a little less tiring on the hands and forearms if you're constantly battling in front of the net or along the boards. I also find that it dampens vibration ever so slightly, improving the feel of just about any stick.

Intangibles: If you have big hands, this will give the butt end a little larger diameter. If you have smaller hands, slightly shaving down a wood plug will give you the room you need to add the foam without increasing the shaft diameter.