Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

DangerIsGo

Brians Zero G vs Smiths

So would someone be able to compare the Zero Gs vs Smiths SP6000s? A hockey store near me carries the ZGs and was wondering what the strengths and weaknesses were of each set to make a valid decision? I know that smiths are less expensive and more customizable but thats it.

I've been using the ZeroG for about 6 months now, the big advantage is these things are so light. They are comfortable and Bfly extremely easy as well. Durability has been great at 4x a week play. I can't speak much for the Smiths, but as everyone knows they are top quality. Features wise, Smith, Vaughn and ZG are very similar.

I liked the ZG pads so much, I got the gloves (custom illegal sizing) and these things were almost 1/2lb lighter each than my old gloves. The catch is so crazy light, so easy to get the glove up quick.

Brian's offers a lot of mods and custom graphics, , so if you are looking for those options, Brian's is very accommodating.

Very interested to read your notes, vision; do keep us posted.

The Smith 6000s are very light pads, but I've never seen anything in the same league as a Brian's Zero-G in terms of weight: even the old Sherwood C-10 was a heifer compared to them. The combination of unusual foam choices and welding the foams rather than gluing and sewing around them really took a remarkable amount of weight off; almost as much as the overbuilt Reebok/Lefebvre pre-sewn zippered shell adds on. My guess is that you could get a pair of 38" Zero-G's under 3lbs per pad with the right kind of quick-release strapping (say, three attachment points apiece) and some Cordura on the face of the pad (much like Brian's used to do for Eddie Belfour back in the day).