Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

xwin

Skate Choice

I'm new to roller hockey, but grew up skating. I'd like to join a league, so now I need skates! I've spent the last two days reading everything that I could find on this forum in regards to skates. That being said, I could still use a sanity check in regards to skate model and size choice.

There are no shops near me that sell roller hockey gear. Oregon is not the place for roller hockey. Needless to say, I have to purchase my skates online. I have a wide foot (~3.75") in a womens size 9-9.5, so about a men's 7 or hockey 6. I have moderate to narrow ankle. I pronate, so I like moderate arch support but Superfeet is too much.

I had an old pair of CCM ice skates that didn't kill my feet but I'm not sure what model. I tried on a used pair of Bauer Vapor x3 ice skates in 6.5 and they were way too narrow. The heel was snug, andI think if it hadn't been heat molded to someone else's foot it would have been good. It definitely didn't allow for any slippage! Tried a used CCM Impact 100 in a 6 which was too long and felt like it was trying to fold my foot in half.

My budget is $200.

I'm thinking of the Mission Axiom T7 in a size 6 EE or possibly the Mission AC5 in 6 E. I have issues with my narrow heel slipping in 90% of everyday ballet flats, so I ruled Tour out due to the wide heel. Alkali sounded interesting, but although it seems like it's very heat moldable I need to be able to judge the sizing of a skate well enough before heating it. I can't take the chance that the skate wouldn't fit me even once it had been molded, and therefore unreturnable.

Opinions? Should I be going with a size 6? With the T7 in an EE or the AC5 in a plain E? Other skates I should consider instead?