Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jsblock11

Solo stick time practice routine?

I'm a beginner adult who has been focusing on skating fundamentals and been through a beginner hockey skating class. I recently got full gear and got in on the local stick time for the first time yesterday. My skating practice time is usually working mostly on basic edge and balance drills from my class and youtube along with the other core fundamentals I've seen videos on (crossovers, backward skating, tight turns, stops)

Anyone care to impart some advice or share your "regimen" for a 2 hour SOLO practice session on ice, i.e. X minutes of skating drills, X of stickhandling, X of shooting? I just sort of aimlessly tooled around with a puck and tried out some wrist shots for the second hour when I got worn out of skating drills. I like organization, structure, efficiency when learning new things and would like to maximize the time I have to improve. My plan is to do the stick time twice per week, and join a beginner league (or pickup once I get decent enough skills to participate) to get some gameplay 1-2 times per week. Got a stickhandling/shooting pad and green biscuit for off ice drills as well.

Sometimes the best practice time is by having fun. I wouldn't spend more than half of your time during stick and puck doing regimented drills. One of the best things about free time is you can try anything you want. I have seen a lot of people get better at stick handling and skating because they were just out having fun with no pressure, trying things they normally can't in practice.

How are you getting solo practice time on the ice? $$$$$?

The only "solo" time I get is on frozen ponds in the winter time.

I used a lot of the HowToHockey and M2Hockey skills/drills videos last year.