Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Grave77Digger

"Learn to use your edges"

What exactly does it mean when somone says "learn to use your edges"? Ive only been skating 2 years now self taught and I seem to be doing good. Im not a terrible skater but would like any advice to improve my skating/stride/stoping/turning. So how do I learn to properly use my edges. I never realized how technical skating is til after reading about forward pitch, radiusing,different grinds, etc. After 2 years im still a newb! :huh:

edit: oops I think this needs moved!

well there are two skates on your feet, each skate is having two edges, inside and outside edge. So when you are skating you just have to learn how to balance with your edges, you gotta get a feeling for the edges.

man i am sorry ican not explain it to good cause english is not my native language... :huh:

well there are two skates on your feet, each skate is having two edges, inside and outside edge. So when you are skating you just have to learn how to balance with your edges, you gotta get a feeling for the edges.

man i am sorry ican not explain it to good cause english is not my native language... :huh:

It's about learning how to use all four of those edges, power transfer, balance, etc...

There is good info available in some of the links here.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=s...rol&btnG=Search

this one is very good!! whe had a course when i was about 16 years old, with our national team and those guys really helped me to improve my skating skills!!

power-skating was kind of a magic word over here, since that laura stamm / robby glantz thing was getting popular!