Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Allsmokenopancake

So, what should I be aware of when skating in

I don't know if this should be in this section or equipment, but just a question.

I changed from CCM Tacks (which are too shallow for me) to bauer Supreme30's.

The boot feels infinately better on my foot, so tomorrow morning is my first skate, at a stick and puck session.

I am a novice skater, so don't want to confuse problems that are common from changing skates with actual skating problems, if that makes sense.

Is there any big differences in terms of pitch or such that will probably surface with the changeover in brands.

This may be the stupidest question of all time, so I apologize in advance for sounding like a muppet

Just don't think about it, just go out there and skate. They may feel a little different at first, maybe a little out of control, but it will come. I just jumped from the Flexlite into the 9K and I was fine in them after the first skate. The less you think about it the easier the transition.

I just switched from CCMs to Bauers, too, and I felt like I was more on my heels. I knew I would fall a few (dozen) times when I tried them at a public skate, but I just forced myself to do all the turns, stops, pivots, and backwards skating moves until I was used to them. Same as forbs, it took 1 good skate.

Knee and elbow pads helped a lot.

Same here. Went from CCM 652Tacks to Nike Flexlites. I noticed the heel down feeling but after a couple of skates its all good. I do like the change in radius - 11' on the CCM and 9' on the Nikes if I am correct - it allows for a quicker change in direction and I didn't notice any stability problems. I think it actually helped out a little on the front to back transitions.