Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Gummer12

To Weave or Not to Weave?

Just a curiosity question, I'm just getting into playing net, and am currently just borrowing EQ, but I am slowly getting my own stuff. I pretty much know what I want in a set of pads, but the question I'm stuck on is the Weave material. Are there any actual advantages and/or drawbacks to having one or the other, or is it just an aesthetic choice? I'm not totally sold on the look of it, but if it does have some pros to it, I will surely consider it.

The weave is the exact same material as the smooth jenpro, just a different pattern. It wears the same, slides the same, is exactly the same except for the look.

Jimmy got it right... ^

I've never noticed any difference between the two materials. The weight and charecteristics remain the same regardless of which you choose. It all comes down to appearance. Old school goalies will always prefer the non-weave, the younger goalies coming up in the game seem to migrate towards the weave...

Thats what I was talking about, the weave/Jenpro vs straight leather. What makes it more Slide prone on the ice? Is it a different material, or the way it's made? How does it Wear (durability) vs Traditional leather, and it's use on Gloves, is that just preference for looks, or are there any advantages or not for the gloves, like faster break in, softer feel, etc...

I know this sounds pretty elementary, but I want to be fully educated before I spend a couple grand on something that I'm not gonna like and be able to use and enjoy for years on end