Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Eazy_b97

Squat difficulties

I've been working out at home on and off for about 6 months. Recently I moved into the second phase of my program which switches to more of a strength routine and calls for higher weights. My problem is the pain the bar always puts on the back of my neck. As well I have a very small ceiling and nowhere that holds the weight at a reasonable height to take it off. I've had a few bad experiences with gyms and am looking at alternative methods of home work-outs. Almost every program calls for squats, this specific one box squats, but its almosti mpossible to put the weights down to the floor after a set. I'm actually substituting Box squats for Barbell Hack Squats, but would really like to do the upright squats. Any suggestions? Also my legs are fairly strong so difficult to put the weight on any objects I have.

can you get a styrofoam pad to wrap around the bar where it rests on ur back n neck? or myabe try wrapping a towel or something around it to soften that area up

I have a pillow I'm using right now, but the bar comes through with the weights i'm using and I'd like to double it at least.

Anyone got some alternate Ideas for a push press either? I haven't been able to find alot of ideas on the net. I'm thinking Military Press.

Instead of a pillow, you might want to get some foam like you find in helmets. You may be able to buy a chunk from THR/GH.

I never even thought of that. Think some foam wrap (white stuff) would work? My main problem with this though is that there isn't enough room to get the weight above my head and it's also a long way to pick-up and put-down the weight. Think I'd have difficulties building my own squat rack?