Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

therf

move from externo to vector/pro tack/8090

Some background...

I've been skating in a size 12 D E-50 for about 2 yrs now. I've been fairly happy with the comfort afforded by the skate, but have a few issues -- namely the lack of forward flex in the boot and the loose fit around the heel. For these reasons I've decided to look for a new skate. While I would like a light skate, I also need a strong skate since I am a big guy @ 6'4" 235. I know the best way to choose a new skate is to go to your lhs and try a bunch of skates on, but at size 12 D/EE that is not an option.

So far I've only tried on a Vapor XX size 12EE, fit was ok and forward flex felt excellent. I ultimately decided against this skate for durability reasons. I will be trying on a 8090 12 EE tomorrow night. I would love to try on a Vector Pro 12D (have questions about durability here as well) and a Pro Tack 12D, but these have been impossible to track down at any lhs.

I would have to order the Pro Tacks or Vector Pro blind off the internet. Any recommendations out of the remaining skates (Vector Pro, Pro Tack, 8090)? If I fit a Vapor 12EE would I fit a 8090 12EE (I don't have the option of trying on a 12 D to compare)?

I have comfortably worn both Bauer & CCM in the past, abeit distant past (Bauer 100s back in the mid 80's and CCM Ultra Tacks towards the late 80's). When I started skating again a few years back I was using the Ultra Tacks until they broke down -- but I loved them right up until that point.

Thanks in advance,

Marc

Loose fit in the heel?

Might want to look into a skate with a narrower heel.

Also - I've found that you should drop 1/2 size for the 8090.

What's your foot type?

Got access to S500? Might work for ya...