Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Wingsnut13

New to Roller Hockey

Hey guys,

I am brand new to roller hockey, and the game of hockey in general. I started playing drop in this past year, and I am entering a mens league next year. However, I want to play roller with my friends over the summer, and I am in need of some guidance. I don't have any roller blades right now, and I don't want to spend tons of money being that I am on a college budget. So, what would you guys recommend as the best brand with the most reasonable pricing. Also, are ice hockey sticks and roller sticks the same? Sorry for all these questions, but I figured you guys would be able to help me out. Thanks!

54 minutes ago, Wingsnut13 said:

Hey guys,

I don't have any roller blades right now, and I don't want to spend tons of money being that I am on a college budget. So, what would you guys recommend as the best brand with the most reasonable pricing.

What ice skate do you use?  Do you like the fit?  If so, I would base your roller skate purchase on the best fit.

55 minutes ago, Wingsnut13 said:

Also, are ice hockey sticks and roller sticks the same?

Depends on which surface you will be playing on. 

• If you are on sport court, you can use the same sticks. 
  • If you are playing on asphalt/concrete you will want something with an ABS blade to slow down the wear process.  You can buy a wood stick with ABS blade, or get a shaft/blade combo.

Some people might change up the flex, since the pucks can be lighter.