Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Fury of One

Hockey Stop?

I've been playing roller for a few years and I'm just getting into ice and I love it. I just wanna know, how do you hockey stop? I've tried doing what people say and it doesn't seem to work. Any suggestions? Thanks. :huh:

when i learned i had to get used to turning my ankle in and like do the "snow plow"technique your skates look like this" / \ " then the one i felt more comfortable with i started to throw my hip and then bang a hockey stop

practice practice practice, i went my whole first year practicing it, i didn't learn for a while, just be patient, thats the best i can say

Practice doing a T stop first, one skate facing forward, the trailing skate dragging behind at 90 degrees. Get the feel of dragging the back skate. You don't want it to dig in too much, but you want it shaving the ice to cause friction.

Once you get the concept, try the regular stop with both skates parallel to the direction of motion. Once again, you don't want the skates to dig in, but shave the ice. Balance a little more weight on the front skate.

Practice your stops away from the boards, as you do not want to crash into the boards feet first! It really hurts.

im also new into icehockey, i played rollerhockey a lotta years!

can some1 show me or us some pictures how to stop?

like for the newbies :rolleyes: like me

or can you list some important aspects?

While I know these photos are on skis... <_<

Imagine that kind of body position on skates

hockeystop1_L.jpg

hockeystop2thru5_L.jpg

Use your stronger leg in front.

I also found that it was easier to practise what my coach calls a "1 o'clock stop" (If you're right-footed) or a "11 o'clock stop" (if you're left footed) before the hockey (parallel) stop.