Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SR27

Torn ACL

Yesterday my knee basically exploded. I made a hard stop and my knee slipped over my shin and bang....it´s 99% sure to be a torn ACL. I´ll have a CT tomorrow to confirm. I heard lots of bad things about this injury and had a couple of friends whose carreer ended due to it. Now it happened to me and I´m looking for some first hand info on how long it took you to get back into shape or what side effects you experienced..any info at all would be nice.

I have no experience with this injury, but from experience it may sound obvious but you'd be surprised how many people don't give injuries long enough to fully recover, that is vital. Let us know how you get on, hope its nothing.

If you are young and in good shape.....4-6 months. I had my knee fixed/ cleaned out a couple of years ago, but that's not as severe. DO NOT sluff off on your PT. That is THE KEY to recovery. There is no reason to think you can not make a 100% recovery if there were no other extenuating circumstances.

I blew out my knee a few years ago--ACL, MCL, some torn cartilage too. (You know you've done a job on yourself when after your surgery the doctor tells you that when they opened you up they discovered things were WORSE than they thought.)

A couple of things--let me echo the earlier post about therapy. Yes, it hurts and yes, it is boring. But it is the one thing you can do to help yourself so don't slough it off. Also, even when you are done with your course of therapy, if you go to the gym to work out, make the excercise bike a part of your routine. It really helps keep your knee limber and your range of motion good.