Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Hockeyman9621

Vapor XX forward flex

Hey guys,

I'm on the market for new skates, my first choice was Graf and some how he(the salesman) talked my mom out of getting grafs........... so my question is, what is the forward flex like once you work it in? I tried them on and the fit my foot like a glove but when i tested the forward flex it was like trying to flex a xx stiff shaft without a blade. LoL okay, maybe not THAT stiff but you get my point.

Thanks a lot.

What is wrong with 703s?

That's what I was going for today, but the salesman said they weren't as good or as high-tech as the new materials. And now my mom doesn't think I should get them, I've been using grafs for almost 3 years now.

Okay. I have absolutely cherished every pair of XXs that I have had, and this is one of the big reasons why:

I was in the same boat as you are now when I first tried on a pair. Couldn't possibly be a better fit for me. But, the boots felt a little too stiff for my taste. I figured that they would lose some of the rigidity once they got baked and worked in a little more. If not, I could always get at least most of my money back on Ebay (this was when the XXs were still new on the market). I skated in them a few times and just fell in love (yes, I actually fell in love with a pair of skates. Call me what you will...). Not only did they lose the stiffness, but that actually felt like they broke down AROUND my foot. I know a lot of people who have said they didn't like this. I know there are quite a few guys on this board who loathe the XXs for this reason. Now, since I am not you, I can't possibly tell whether you are going to love them or hate them once they turn to butter. Personally, I think the skates only get better with age.