Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

retroXvertigo

Question for those of you that wear collars

I personally do not wear a Dangler with collar because they shatter easily which gets expensive and can cut you. In addition, they are noisy and for me at least, impede my ability to rotate my head fully left and right as the dangler would get cough up in my CA or jersey.

If you use one now and add a collar, it will not interfere with it in anyway however, in case that is why you asked.

I have a dangler now. It gets a little irritating at times between the noise and it sometimes snagging the C/A.

Disclaimer: I'm a d-man turned brand new goalie and I'm still learning EVERYTHING. Including equipment.

I wear both. I've had shots squeak through the dangler and hit me in the neck. Thankfully they were weak wristers, but if they were blasts...who knows.

You should probably wear both anyway (unless you have a very good C/A with proper neck/collarbone protection). The dangler is really there to protect you from shots. Yes, they will break but that's the point...it'll break the plastic and not your throat. The collar is there mostly so a skate can't cut you should it hit your neck. If you get hit in the neck with a puck wearing a collar, you'll still feel it...but it will protect you from the full blow.