Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Hills

Hills' 2017 Pad Purchasing Decisions

Since Warrior are being massive jerks and releasing a pad this year that fits into what I am looking for in my next set, my choices just expanded so I figured I'd post a thread here as a "What am I going to do and why."

Overview:
I've been wearing Warrior G2 Pro return pads for 2 years now. I realized they are too small in the knee when I tried out 35+2 Koho 588 RPMs. While the Koho's were ridiculously heavier and slower sliding I felt more comfortable in them and played some of my best hockey in them. They are what made me realize why people still wear Reebok/CCM designs even though they are lacking in terms of innovation compared to other brands. They just felt "right". Below is a picture for reference.

Since I enjoy doing equipment reviews so much I figured I'd go all out on my next pad purchase. While buying used and pro return equipment will be cheaper, a full custom purchase is more fun and more relevant in terms of actually doing a write up on them (I have had a lot of people ask me to review my G2 pads and my Bauer gloves, but since both are pro return and could never be purchased at retail I didn't see the point [and they were considered older models when I got them]).

I had issue with a pair of really soft Battram pads, so decided to try out stiff pads that were relatively flat. While I like some of the advantages to these, using the Koho made me realize I didn't mind a pre-curved slightly softer pad either. This idea leaves me with the following choices (at the moment).

kTUiDRG.jpg

Bauer Vapor 1X Pads