Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sonsplayhockey

Ice Time in Bear League

I run the offense on our Adult League. This is my first year doing this on a new team. No one else seemed to have the leadership skills or gonads to do it so I volunteered. When we had odd number of forwards, I was rotating say the wingers instead of running set lines. Some goofballs could not get things straight so I started double shifting some players (the better ones). Couple guys bitched about ice time last night and I let it slide. I plan to reward good play with more ice time so our team does not get crushed all the time. Anyone else get in that situation. I had one player ask why he was always on 4th line (yea, our roster is way too big) and I told him because he's slow. He dissagreed but if you were to see him skate, you'd think someone was sliding a statue across the ice.

If I were running the team next year, I"d be a hard a$$ and have try outs instead of "who's playing this year". Some of these guys skate in 2 speeds, slow and stop. Those goofs don't show up for practice or spend the time on skills or pick up like the others.

Anyone have similar situations? Can you give me some one liners to give to these goofs?