Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Sign in to follow this  
Dave

Bauer 5000

Bauer 5000 Helmet

I’ve been using this helmet for 2 years, and I think the only helmet I’d ever use again is the 5000.

Fit- The 5000 fits comfortably on my head. It can be adjusted tight enough to fit my head so it won’t move around, but loose enough that it won’t squeeze my head and give headaches (a problem I’ve had with other helmets). Also keep in mind that the fit of any helmet is P.P. 9/10

Protection- The 5000 is well-known for being one of the most protective helmets around. Probably not as protective as the Nike Quest or the 1052 but I’ve taken more than my fair share shots to the head with this helmet and no concussions to date (knock on wood). 9/10

Weight- The helmet is fairly light, probably somewhere between the Itech HC100 but definitely lighter than the CCM 1052. Weight isn’t really a big problem for me but this helmet is defiantly not that heavy. 8/10

Durability- I used the same helmet for a year and a half, and the shell and interior padding stayed intact well, considering I used it 5-6 times a week. Not a crack in the plastic. 8/10

Intangibles- I had to replace this helmet because the front jell-pack popped. Kind of annoying but the helmet served me well. I also wasn’t pleased with the colour selection, because my team is sort of in-between the two blue colours Bauer retails. Over all though, other than the jell-packs, not too bad. 8.5/10

Conclusion- If those jell-packs wouldn’t have popped this helmet would have been a 10/10 but because of that I’m going to have to drop the rating to a 9/10, overall a great helmet, that I would reccomend to anyone.:D

Bauer 5000 Helmet

FIT: