Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

aal517

Spinner vs Standard Dressing

I was wondering what people's experiences have been with using both the BS spinner and the standard single diamond pencil dressers that are on most machines. I have a Wissota home skate sharpener and recently I had a friend of mine machine an adapter for my skate holder to hold spinners so I could do FBV on it. I have noticed that when using the single diamond dresser, I can get a mirrrored finish on the bottom of my blade. Yet when I use the spinner, it creates almost grain marks running from heel to toe on my blade. Nothing is changing except for how I dress the wheel. Anyone else experience similar results?

My spinners do that as well. I'm no expert but I would expect it when you think about how it works. Any slight micro imperfections in the depth of the spinner will produce micro imperfctions that will go entirely around the wheel. This will of course produce a slight imperfection that runs the length of the blade. Since a traditional ROH dressing is truly a "single point" on a radial arm, these imperfections won't exist in diamond point dresser case. I think performance impacts would be negligible.

I have no problem getting a mirror finish on my X02 with a spinner.