Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

tdellaringa

Help finding the right skate

Hi there, new to the forums.

I'm having a bit of trouble finding a good skate, and I was hoping to get some help. I'm very familiar with inlines, having owned one of the first pair of mass market "rollerblades" in the mid 80's. They weighed a ton, but we used them to play hockey anyway :)

Anyhow, I've been doing inline speedskating (outdoor) for the last 7 years, but I no longer have the time to do that. I wanted to get back into hockey if even just to skate around the local rink for exercise. So I probably will not be playing in games right away. I just need a solid skate that fits properly.

Fit is an issue, because I have a wide foot, particularly in the mid-foot area. I have always had a problem with skates squeezing my foot and causing a lot of pain. In speedskating this isn't an issue, because we get skates custom molded to our feet, and then the skate is built around the mold. I know many hockey skates can be "heat molded" but it's not quite the same thing.

I was hoping to spend less than $200. Maybe that's not realistic, I am not sure. However, I could get this skate in an E width:

http://www.hockeygiant.com/misinhds6sktsr.html

But reading here, there seems to be lot of positive talk about Alkali skates. They are totally new to me. I found this page of them:

http://www.hockeymonkey.com/alkali-inline-skate-sr.html

But I have no idea about the differences in model. I just don't know nowadays what the key features are of a skate. For me, the most important thing is to have a skate that is wide enough so I can skate without pain. (Also it does not seem they offer half sizes? I am a 7.5)