Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Flop_N_Pray

Best C/A Protector under $350

I'm currently wearing a used Vaughn Vision 3700. Although I am new to goal, I face good shooters on a regular basis at drop-ins - D1-D3 college varsity and club level, high school varsity, and the odd Junior A or B player. I'm feeling every decent shot through this unit, unless it hits me right in the belly or a shoulder floater. Not just in a "hey, that hit me" way, but in a "let me shake that off real quick" way. I recently took a slap shot to the chest that required a quick skate around the goal - from a teenager who never played organized hockey. As far as my pain tolerance, well, I played D3 college lacrosse. But who knows, maybe I just need to suck it up. If the Vision is enough for what I'm currently facing, tell me and I'll save the money.

If I do get a new C/A, my hard stop for price is $350 to preserve my marriage and checkbook.* So far, I have been looking at the Simmons 999, the Warrior Ritual Pro (G1), the Warrior Ritual G2 Senior, and the standard Passau. The Simmons and Passau squeak by right at budget due to exchange rate. I've heard good things about Brown but I'm not sure what they cost and I hear they are very bulky.

If / when I join a beer league team it will probably be intermediate level by next fall based on the feedback I'm getting at drop-ins.

I've pored over every review of these units I can find, but what I cannot tell is where they rank compared to each other in terms of protection and mobility. I am specifically curious if the G2 has any features that warrant moving down a level in protection from the older Ritual Pro - if it is a move down. I lean towards hybrid/athletic style and favor mobility all other things being equal.