Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Jackson Slauenwhite

Mental Performance Coach, Ask Me Anything (AMA)

Hey everyone, I'm a mental performance coach/consultant working in the CHL and with Hockey Canada.

Normally at this time of the year I'm deep into playoff prep, but because the league is currently suspended, I've got a bit more time on my hands.

If you have any questions about the impact of mental performance on the game, sport psych, developing elite players, etc., feel free to ask away!

• Like 1

On 3/21/2020 at 7:35 PM, Jackson Slauenwhite said:

Hey everyone, I'm a mental performance coach/consultant working in the CHL and with Hockey Canada.

Normally at this time of the year I'm deep into playoff prep, but because the league is currently suspended, I've got a bit more time on my hands.

If you have any questions about the impact of mental performance on the game, sport psych, developing elite players, etc., feel free to ask away!

For non-elite players who play in amateur/recreational leagues, I see that in some of our games, our team performs well and others, our team performs awful.

And on a personal level, sometimes, I don't perform as well in some games as others, regardless of the win-loss outcome. If I see myself not playing as well in the first period, that usually continues into the second and third periods. What would be your recommendation to a player (elite or not) who is regressing to making sloppy plays/sloppy passes/throwing away the puck needlessly, i.e. hockey IQ seems to fall off?

1 hour ago, caveman27 said:

For non-elite players who play in amateur/recreational leagues, I see that in some of our games, our team performs well and others, our team performs awful.