Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SCATMAN

Glasses and Hockey

Hey all

just a question for the guys out there who have glasses.

Do you wear them when you play? I know contacts are the way to go but im just curious because i cant wear contacts for a few months and im still playing with glasses and a visor..

Anyone had trouble with the above combo or is the mighty cage the way to go for a lil while?

p.s. i use an oakly pro cut visor and a DX100 on a ITECH pro lid.

This isn't going to help much but I've been wearing contacts since I started playing catcher in baseball BEFORE my hockey career. Short of lasik, there isn't any better option...

BUT I've seen plenty of people play with glasses. The biggest issue is fogging of course, as long as they're staying in place and not fogging up on you it doesn't matter whether you're using a cage or a half shield, seen plenty of both. Even know a guy that plays in goal with glasses.

MissD plays with glasses and a cage with no problems. She won't consider a visor because of fogging. I'm such a Hockeymom I had her get contacts for hockey... so far she hasn't bothered to switch over.

If you are comfortable with contacts... I'd go with them; sight is much, much better with contacts than glasses.

I don't wear my glasses while I play, too foggy and uncomfortable.

I wear contacts now, but for a long time I was wearing sport goggles. Got the cheapest pair I could find with prescription lenses and just made sure to wipe anti-fog spray before each ice time. Worked pretty well. The best spray I could find I got at a diving store...supposed to be used for diving masks.