kovalchuk71 212 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 So for my bowling class at school, I have to learn how to score by hand. I thought I had it, but I cant figure out for the life of me where I am messing up. Can anyone help? Heres the frame setup. The score I calculate is 194, but it is SUPPOSED to be 188. Where am I messing up?Frame 1 (7)(/) =16Frame 2 (6)(2) =24 Frame 3 (X) =52Frame 4 (X) =80 Frame 5 (8)(/) =98Frame 6 (8)(-) =106 Frame 7 (X) =136 Frame 8 (X) =159 Frame 9 (X) =179 Frame 10 (3)(/)(7) =194 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nickerjones 8 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 isnt frame 4 only supposed to be 72 ... ? 52 after 3rd... X in the 4th plus your next 2 balls is 20 ? so after 4th at 725th 906th 987th 1288th 1519th 17110th 188 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kovalchuk71 212 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Yes. Thanks nickerjones, you are correct. Thats where I screwed up. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nickerjones 8 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Yes. Thanks nickerjones, you are correct. Thats where I screwed up.no problem!! are you taking this bowling class in college? I took one in college with my college baseball coach... he just made us fill out a scorecard for our final.. then he said screw it here is the answers haha! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kovalchuk71 212 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Haha. Yeah I am taking it in college. My class is hard though. We had a paper to write and quizzes and stuff. Its pretty crazy for being only 1 credit hour. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shooter27 116 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 I've always wondered - how come mark frames in the 10th frame don't benefit from the carryover over the extra shot? So - in the case of the scoring mentioned above it would be 195 instead of 188 because the last 7 would carryover to the spare before it and count for itself. I understand it doesn't actually work this way, but would love to know if you guys know why. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Machinehead2k5 32 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 I've always wondered - how come mark frames in the 10th frame don't benefit from the carryover over the extra shot? So - in the case of the scoring mentioned above it would be 195 instead of 188 because the last 7 would carryover to the spare before it and count for itself. I understand it doesn't actually work this way, but would love to know if you guys know why.Because it's the same the extra balls in the 10th frame make up for the carryover. The most points that can be scored in a single frame is 30 points (10 for the original strike, plus strikes in the two subsequent frames). A player who bowls a strike in the tenth (final) frame is awarded two extra balls so as to allow the awarding of bonus points. If both these balls also result in strikes, a total of 30 points (10 + 10 + 10) is awarded for the frame. These bonus points do not count on their own, however. They only count as the bonus for the strike. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Drewhunz 3 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 I recommend taking bowling AFTER you turn 21. We were allowed to drink during "class" :) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Too Old 1 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Correct. Thus you can indulge in Liquid Bowling Enhancer. And may I recommend steel-toe bowling shoes to protect yourself from injury when kicking the ball return? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jarick 5 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 I took badminton and golf because I thought they'd be "easy" classes...badminton was actually so hard on my body I went to the doctor with sharp abdominal pains and headaches (bouncing around on a hard gym floor). And golf...I never went to class and missed the final, made up an excuse to retake it, and it was incredibly hard (i.e. what is rule # 22 in the golf handbook). That was my senior year, last class, and I literally had nightmares I wouldn't graduate college because I failed golf! Luckily the teacher just gave everyone an "A" because he didn't care. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jjtt99 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 I mean no disrespect, but can you help me understand what kind of "classes" these are? Are you actually getting credits for bowling, golf and badminton? If so, are the credits different than those you would get for math or English? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Drewhunz 3 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 Single credit hour electives. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Aggie 9 Report post Posted May 1, 2010 With regards to manual scoring, think of a spare as 10 plus the next ball and a strike as 10 plus the next two balls. Don't think of it by frames. On a side note, collegiate bowling was the best! Outside of collegiate bowling, there really isn't much team bowling. That's why after college, I picked up hockey! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jarick 5 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Yep, single credit half semester college courses. I had to have 2 credits of sports participation to graduate. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites